My favorite theory

My favorite theory is the social cognitive theory. This theory deals with the idea that people can learn something through social interactions and observation of others. It’s a simple theory that has widespread support, even though most of us don’t know about it.

Looking back, I think that most of my skills and knowledge was obtained through the social cognitive theory. School and college certainly are the biggest example, as they try to teach through lecture and activity surrounding each subject.

This is also a theory I have actively used myself when trying to learn something new. When studying drawing for a hobby, I don’t always just take a piece of paper and attempt a drawing technique. I will usually watch an instructional video with someone doing it, observing at how the movement and pressure creates the technique. Doing this is almost like a eureka sensation, as doing the new technique will suddenly be so much easier.

Leave a Reply

