Things I won’t be able to do with my kids.

Seeing how things have changed in the past ten years, I really had to wonder what things will be like when I have a family. Comparatively, my parents got to do with me a lot of what they did with their own parents. The advancement of the internet has really changed how we do a lot of things, and there are a few that could very well be changed forever.

Going to blockbuster could very well go the way of the dodo soon. My parents used to take me there when I was a kid to rent a movie or game, but I can already tell I won’t be doing that. With movie and game streaming services becoming more and more popular, the convenience of saving the time and doing it right in my living room will certainly make that the entertainment venue of choice.

Going to the bookstore. Here’s something I did a lot as a kid, but something I almost never do now. With my iPad, I can get almost any book, newspaper, or magazine in digital form through various online vendors, and these have only been a big player in the past five years. Before then, ebook readers were considered a very small niche. Ten years from now, will there even be any bookstores to go to? Borders has already gone down, and local book sellers are suffering greatly at the hands of Amazon and Barnes and Noble. B&N is focusing more and more on its digital front, trying to adapt to the changing market. We may soon see them downsize their megastores to smaller Apple Store like venues offering their various readers and a scaled back physical book selection.

The obvious trend is “going place”. The digital age is replacing those with the convenience of doing things from home. That is not to say that this is a bad thing. Saving time on errands can lead to more quality time with family doing things more enjoyable. Still, its hard to believe that a lot of the magical moments of my childhood could be forever lost to the coming generations.

I’m already saying “Back in my day.”

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

